Uptick includes a notes feature for yourself and for any people you manage. Notes can be added at any point, and can help assist you when it comes time to complete a performance review. 

Notes are private, and they are separate from the 1:1s themselves.

(But, notes can be created from a 1:1 – see the section add a note by saving a 1:1 comment.)

If you choose to use notes, especially for using in a future performance review, it's important to keep the distinction of who you're writing the note about and where you write it.

  • Notes for/about yourself = Notes page

  • Notes about one of the people you manage = My Team page, and click on a team member's name


Adding notes

Add a note for yourself on the Notes page

A note can be added directly via the Notes page (More > Notes page), and it works like a logbook. The Notes page is your own personal page, for your own notes. You can write anything and it is automatically date-stamped for you. All users have a Notes page.

(A note can also be created from a 1:1 – see the section add a note by saving a 1:1 comment.)

Managers can add notes for each of their team members via the My Team page.

Once you click on an individual's name, the page looks the same as the Notes page, and has the same functionality. Any notes added this way will be for that team member (but still private for your eyes only).

(A note can also be created from a 1:1 – see the section add a note by saving a 1:1 comment.)

How to create a new note

On either your own Notes page, or the notes page for a team member (via the My Team page):

Click "(+) Add a Note" in the top right of the page.

A window will appear, where you type your text and click "Add a Note" to save.

Once the note is saved, it will appear at the top of the page as "Untagged". See below for info on tagging notes and editing or deleting notes.

Create a new note by saving a 1:1 comment

When writing a comment in a 1:1, you'll see an option to mark as "Save for review". This can be done before or after you add your comment.

Clicking the "save for review" option saves an exact copy of the text you've written, under the related notes page:

  • If you click "save for review" on a comment that you are writing in your 1:1 with your manager (you are the team member), it will go under your Notes page.

  • If you click "save for review" on a comment you are writing in a 1:1 for your team member (you are the manager), the text will be saved as a note under that team member's name via the My Team page.

Once you've typed your comment, click the "save for review" option before clicking "Add".

Or, once you've added your comment, hover over the comment and you'll see a 3-dot menu appear next to it. Click, and select the option "save for review".


Tagging notes

On the Notes page, notes can be tagged according to the correlating review topic. This is an optional step, and whether you are viewing your notes on the Notes page or while filling out a review, you will always have the option to "view all". However, tagging your notes with a specific category can help streamline the process when you are looking back through your data.

To tag your notes:

  • Navigate to the Notes page.

  • Any notes you have saved from a 1:1 will appear at the top, untagged.

  • Click the Add a Tag button in-line with the note and choose a topic from the default list that appears.


Editing or deleting notes

To edit or delete a note, on the Notes page click on a note itself and these options will appear on the far right.

If the note was originally saved from a comment in a 1:1, the comment itself will not be edited or deleted. Only that specific note will be changed.

Questions? Send us a chat - we're happy to help!

Did this answer your question?