The getting started guide for team members


What is a 1:1?

1:1s (or "one-on-ones") in Uptick are recurring meetings, every or every-other week, for 15-60 minutes.

In Uptick, you are either a "manager" or a "team member" (or employee). Even if "manager" is not totally indicative of your work relationship, someone has to be in the manager role to manage a 1:1 in Uptick, which includes the questions and meeting schedule.

This article is outlining how 1:1s work for someone in the "team member role", the person filling out the 1:1 ✍️


Getting started: logging into your account

Once your 1:1 has been set up, you (team member) will receive an email from Uptick with an invitation to login to your account. Login here: https://my.uptickapp.com/login

The first page you'll see when you log in is the My 1:1s page. You will see a blue button in the upper right that says "Fill out 1:1" - click that to view your actual 1:1 and all the questions set up for you to respond to. (Jump to: How to fill out your 1:1)

If you do not see a 1:1 set up for you...

Either you were invited first before the 1:1 was set up, or perhaps you are supposed to initiate the setup. Talk to your manager if you are not sure. If you have questions, send us a message via the blue chat icon in the lower right corner!


How do 1:1s work in Uptick?

Once a 1:1 has been set up, it is a recurring meeting and generates automatically based on your meeting cadence with questions for you to respond to prior to your meeting time.

We always recommend that managers and team members communicate about how far in advance the manager would like the team member to have their responses shared with them. Some managers prefer to have responses completed 24 hours in advance of the meeting, and some managers are OK with an hour or less before the meeting time. If your manager hasn't communicated an expectation, ask them!


Getting started: the My 1:1s page

Once a 1:1 has been set up, the My 1:1s page is the first page that you see:

The My 1:1s page is not your actual 1:1 - it's like an overview page for you. When you are just getting started, there is very little content on the page, but it becomes populated with information over time as you continue to meet.

To view your upcoming 1:1 and respond to the questions, click the blue "Fill out 1:1" button in the top right. (Jump to: How to fill out your 1:1)

Your upcoming 1:1

Your upcoming 1:1 meeting information is shown in two places - in the left sidebar, and up at the top of the page. This is when your 1:1 meeting will take place.

Your 1:1 responses will need to be submitted prior to this date/time - ideally with plenty of time beforehand for your manager to review your responses and come prepared to your meeting.

Talking points

Talking points appear at the top of the page. This section is like a notepad or scratchpad where you can jot down "anything else" you want to remember to chat about with your manager in your 1:1. Talking points appear in a bulleted, "checkbox" list form.

  • Talking points are private, which means your manager cannot see them.

  • Talking points are not connected to a specific 1:1 date. They "live" up there at the top of the My 1:1s page until you check them off. Once they are checked off, and your current 1:1 is completed or a new 1:1 date is generated, then any completed talking points disappear from the list.

  • Talking points are not required. They are just there to be helpful!

  • When you are viewing a 1:1 date, there is a place at the top right that you can expand to view your talking points:

Past 1:1s / 1:1 history

At the bottom of the My 1:1s page you will see your past 1:1 dates that you can click on to view. At first this section is blank, but 1:1 dates are listed here once you start meeting.


How to fill out your 1:1

Click the blue "Fill out 1:1" button in the top right to open up your 1:1:

As you scroll down the page, you'll see the 1:1 questions your manager has set up for you. To respond to the questions, write a comment and click the blue "Add" button:

Share your 1:1 responses

At the very bottom of the page you'll see a blue button that says "Share 1:1 responses". Until this button is clicked, your manager can't see anything that you've written except for any priorities you have listed.

Click "Share 1:1" when you are ready to share your responses with your manager. Your manager will receive an email notification.

You can continue to edit or add additional responses even after you have shared your 1:1. They will automatically be visible to your manager, and they will also receive an email notification.


Goals and Priorities

There are two key sections built into Uptick that are used to track work progress:

  • Goals: these are usually higher-level, longer-term projects or other goals, and the manager adds these for the team member. (This term can be renamed to Objectives, OKRs, Initiatives, etc., so you might see a different word in your account.)

  • Priorities: these are meant to be things you are truly prioritizing getting done between now and your next 1:1. They are added by you - the team member - but the manager also has the ability to edit, delete, and add to the list after you have shared your 1:1 responses.

If you and your manager are using the Goals and/or Priorities sections in Uptick, here's how they work:

Goals

In the middle of the My 1:1s page, you can view any goals that your manager has added for you:

To record progress on these goals, you can do so on the My 1:1s page and/or when you are filling our your 1:1.

  • On the My 1:1s page, use the dropdown to the left of each goal to mark off progress, and add any comments. Any actions taken or comments added here will automatically pull into the Goals question in your 1:1.

  • When filling out your 1:1, you can check off progress on a goal, mark it as complete (or "done"), and add any comments.

Priorities

The Priorities section on the My 1:1s page is blank at first, because you haven't started meeting yet.

Priorities are the things you are focusing on getting done between "now" and your next 1:1, and they're added by you when you fill out your 1:1. Once added, they will appear in the section on the My 1:1s page:

In your very first 1:1, there is only one question on priorities, where you are prompted to add your priorities in a list format. Click the blue button to start adding priorities:

Once you submit your 1:1, your manager will also be able to add, edit, or delete priorities on this list. We recommend you talk through this list in your 1:1 meeting to make sure you're in agreement about what you will focus on.

In your subsequent 1:1s, you will see two questions on priorities. In the first one you can check off which priorities have been completed or carry over unfinished ones, and in the second question is where you set new priorities.

Questions? Use the blue chat icon in the bottom right of Uptick to send us a message - we would love to help!

Did this answer your question?